A Moment of Meeting

February 26, 2009 at 3:00 am 1 comment

My six month old granddaughter had a sleepover at my house. She woke up crying in the middle of the night. I rushed to her crib, told her I was there, picked her up, and sat down in the rocking chair. I held her and breathed with her. She continued to cry and release continuous sobs. I sang her lullabies, stroked her head and talked to her openly about feeling scared waking up in a strange bed. I told her that she was now safe. She put her head on my shoulder and we made a full connection with each other. This was an opportunity for a moment of meeting — a memory that I will always treasure.

Parents regularly experience situations like this. Simply being present with full attention, orienting the child to the situation,  naming the emotion (she was scared), and providing touch can soothe an upset baby or child and create a mutually-rewarding emotional bond.

What experiences like this have you had?

Entry filed under: Parenting Tips.

What Kind of Stroller is Best? Passing the Baby Around

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. patricia lucas  |  March 5, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    Great site, Becky! Your expertise is well communicated and besides, your picture is adorable!
    Patricia

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2009
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Recent Posts

Mamapedia

I'm a featured blogger on Mamapedia Voices

